Three new members of ERC Scientific Council


The new members will take office on 2 March 2022.

The European Commission appointed three new members to the governing body of the European Research Council, the Scientific Council. These scientists are appointed for an initial period of four years, replacing three members whose mandate expired. The three new members of the ERC Scientific Council are:

  • Chryssa Kouveliotou, professor at the George Washington University, Washington D.C., United States;
  • László Lovász, professor emeritus at Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary;
  • Giovanni Sartor, professor at the University of Bologna and at the European University Institute, Florence, Italy.

The Scientific Council defines the ERC's scientific funding strategy and methodologies. It is composed of 22 members, all eminent scientists and scholars, who represent the scientific community in Europe and are appointed by the European Commission following recommendations by an independent Identification Committee.

More information to be found in the official press release.