New European Bauhaus Prizes will recognise sustainibility, aesthetics and inclusion


On 23 April, the European Commission launched the call for the applications for the New European Bauhaus Prizes.

The Prizes will be awarded in 10 different categories. In each of the categories there are two parallel competition strands. The first strand will recognise already existing completed examples/projects applying three key values of the New European Bauhaus (NEB) – sustainability, aesthetics and inclusion, this prize is called New European Bauhaus Awards. The second strand, New European Bauhaus Rising Stars is aimed for concepts or ideas submitted by young talents aged 30 or less. This prize wishes to support the young generation and motivate it to a creation of new ideas and interesting concepts.

The applications may be submitted until 31 May 2021. Applications have to demonstrate why and how the example or project/concept represents or embodies the three main values of the NEB. In addition, the application should prove its innovative dimension. Regarding the ‘Rising Stars', applicants must present the steps foreseen for the further development or implementation of the concept or idea.

Exemples of the categories of the Prizes:

  • Techniques, materials and processes for construction and design
  • Building in a spirit of circularity
  • Products and life style
  • Modular, adaptable and mobile living solutions
  • Mobilisation of culture, arts and communities

More information, conditions of the Prizes, and how to submit an application can be found in the press release of the EC Questions and Answers on the New European Bauhaus Prize or on the webpage of the EC – EU Science Hub.

Source of information: previously mentionned websites.